New Year, Old Me.

Angela Shallal Bennett
2 min readJan 3, 2017

--

As the New Year approaches and the holiday season comes to an end, I always look forward to going back to the old me.

I know, it's strange. New year, old me. Most people strut into the New Year for new changes. New diets, a new life, a chance to purge the gluttony of the holidays. I’m looking for self-renewal; the best of the old me. What exactly does that mean? Well, let's talk about the holiday first.

We alternate traveling back to one of our home towns each year over the holiday. On the year(s) we travel to Michigan we have my mom’s famous cooking — need I say more? If you know her and have tasted her food, I have your attention.

Friends and family visit near and far to taste my mom’s food. Of course, they want to hang with the Shallals too :) It’s hard to resist the homemade baklava (sorry everyone, Lil’s is THE BEST) and all her homemade Chaldean treats. Have you tried her french toast? OMG. Made with fresh Challah bread, crispy edges on the outside, soft in the inside. We wake to the aroma waffling from the kitchen as she prepares it at 6 am. Homemade Takhratha’s (Chaldean meat pies), hot lemony Dolma, and lets not leave out the Gaymar (a Chaldean delectable thick-cream milk spread slathered over toast with honey — pure heaven!). Cocktails every night, eating out with friends, celebrating holiday birthdays with Michigan SQUARE pizza, the list goes on.

I’ve shared in previous posts, our diet is typically 85% healthy and 15% everything else, however, this time of year is more 60%- 40%. Eating this amazing food plagues me with guilt while filling me with pleasure. It’s a time of no restraint. It’s an awesome 10 days of fun!

So back to the “old-me” thing. My daily routine and lifestyle are comforting. Going into the new year, I won’t give up foods, detox, or restrict my diet to jump-start a return to reality. In past blog posts, I’ve shared my thoughts on following strict programs and how that doesn’t work for me. I’m aware of my disciplines so my regular routine is a cleanse itself. Self-renewal is about making evolving changes, yet staying your best self. I’ve started to realize a week or two back in, everything goes back to normal. In the past I would regret and resent choices, therefore, focus on the bad. My self-renewal is learning to accept instead of regret, and I’m still evolving.

Ironically, feeling bad while attempting to instill good is actually a bad habit. Reminding yourself of who you are is all you need.

And, aside from food, the best part of being home is this photo right here. Happy New Year from my family to yours!

Beyond grateful for this family! Multiple takes on this photo — thanks to Mish for forcing the photos ;) We made it happen and it’s pure awesome! (Left to Right: Mike/bro Fred/BIL, Freddie/nephew (on lap), Bryan/husband, Zane/son, Ange (me), Dad, Max/nephew (on lap), Lillian/mom, Christian/nephew, Jenny/sister, Jon/BIL. Bottom left to right; Isabelle/niece and Michelle/sis).

--

--

Angela Shallal Bennett

F words I love the most; Family, friends and food. Wife & Mom. Looking to inspire and connect.